Holden Caulfield, Probably

“When I got there, I could hardly see the beach because of all the goddamn tourists. Not that it was much to look at. Old beer bottles and hamburger wrappers were everywhere, and the water looked like vomit, all mottled green and foamy. I bet in a million years when the ocean is just a big ol’ greasy puddle, some moron is still going to throw his beer bottle into it. If you want to know what I think, I don’t think the world’s going to be around in a million years.

We’ve got too many damn fools in it.”

A/N: my attempt to mimic literature’s greatest teenage pessimist. Written September 22nd, 2015

© 2016 Obliquity of the Ecliptic

Leave a Reply

